Ahpra and the Boards

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (Ahpra) and the 15 National Boards play an integral role in how the National Scheme works

In 2008 the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) established a single national scheme for registered health practitioners (the National Scheme). The National Scheme’s overarching aim is to protect the public.

Ahpra’s role

Ahpra was created to administer the National Scheme and support the 15 National Boards to set standards that all registered health professionals must meet. Ahpra also:

  • manages applications for registration for the 16 registered health professions (such as doctors, nurses and most allied health practitioners)
  • hears and, where appropriate, investigates notifications about the performance, health and conduct of registered health practitioners
  • maintains a public register of health practitioners who are registered and can practise within the scope of their registration.

The National Boards' role

The National Boards are responsible for setting the standards that all registered health practitioners in the 16 registered health professions must meet.

The 15 National Boards are the:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia
  • Chinese Medicine Board of Australia
  • Chiropractic Board of Australia
  • Dental Board of Australia
  • Medical Board of Australia
  • Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia
  • Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia
  • Occupational Therapy Board of Australia
  • Optometry Board of Australia
  • Osteopathy Board of Australia
  • Paramedicine Board of Australia
  • Pharmacy Board of Australia
  • Physiotherapy Board of Australia
  • Podiatry Board of Australia
  • Psychology Board of Australia.
  • Learn more about how Australia’s health practitioners are regulated.

  • Find out more about our vision, purpose and values.

  • Find out more about how we strive for fair and positive change in the regulation of health practitioners.

  • Find out more about the current Ombudsman and Commissioner, Richelle McCausland.

  • Learn more about the laws that govern our work.

  • Find out how our office is an independent and impartial complaint service.

Find out more about how to make a complaint to the Ombudsman and to the Commissioner.

Find out more about how to apply for review of Ahpra's FOI decision.

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Give us a call on 1300 795 265